The Beginning of the End

Maybe. Just maybe the title is a bit over dramatic but it fits well with this first post. I am the mother of 3 nearly 4 kiddos. (Yes I used Kiddos) I had the privilege today of reading a blog post about a woman thanking a stranger at the park for scolding her son for being bully on the playground while she attended another child in her care aross the playground.

I agree with everything this lady said. Down to ONE major point she made.

I’m not saying you have the right to touch him in any way or yell at him uncontrollably (only I’m allowed to do that) – See more at: http://babysideburns.com/2016/05/playground-dicipline/#sthash.Y6WtJaMU.dpuf

In this past month I have plenty of experience in this situation. I have always believed like babysideburns states

It takes a village to raise a kid.

As you may see at some point I am a Pagan by religion and I was apart of a “family” styled coven. (ie a church) I had never said anything against any of ladies scolding or reprimanding my 3 children. My oldest being 7, next 5 (both girls) and then my 2yr old son. The day in “question” which she and I see very differently on the chain of events started off fairly bad. According to her 3yr old son my son broke her older sons PS3 by putting CDs (4 of them) in it. The moment she called me I apologized immediately for the possibility that it had been my son and stated that I would look into either getting it fixed or replacing it. She had laughed it off or so I thought. Later that evening we had a “coven class”. And her husband stated rather cruelly “Take that one with you” pointing at my son. (I personally was in the living room dealing with very painful braxton hicks (I was nearly 7 months at the time) I brushed it off and said no biggie. Though we all know that with younger children they come in pairs when they are friends and my son and her son were very good friends who were nearly connected at the hip. Not once in any conversation had the mention of her sons involvement in the CDs being put in PS3 brought up. But I wasn’t going to start a fight or cause a ruckus. There was no proof of either. So I was keeping my silence.

So during our class my 2yr old son was forced to stay in the living room with 2 trucks to play with and the TV had to remain off. He was getting bored and feeling left out as he could clearly hear the kids in the next room playing. Finally his 2nd Mom (the woman I’m closest to in the coven) allowed him a drink of her soda class was finished and we were just chatting. His 2nd Mommy made him laugh and he snorted causing some soda to be spit out which all of us ladies to laugh. (So as any mother knows if you laugh at a 2yr olds actions they think it’s a game) He then took another drink of soda and this time purposely spit it out on the floor. Before either I or his 2nd Mommy could react to reprimand him she (my now previous friend) flew off the couch where she was sitting next to my sons second Mommy and did not pop or scold my son but outright slapped my son across his face and then picked him up as he started to cry and say “yeah that’s right I slapped you in the face”. As he is my baby and I am very protective mother I controlled my anger and simply stood up gathered my items and removed my son from her arms and walked out the door gathering my daughters from the “playroom”. She to this day maintains her innocence in hitting my son hard enough to leave a mark for several days on her face. She still claims that she simply got after my son and popped him on the mouth.

My sons 2nd Mommy of course witnessed the same chain of events and both us have since left the coven.

She contacted me several days after the incident and tried to convince me I was in the wrong and when that did not work she moved onto she did not realize she had hit him that hard. I told her I needed sometime to try to move past what she did to my son. After our conversation she made choice to post the full story on our coven FB page that I no longer had access to and put all the blame on me and made her involvement seem very innocent.

If you are apart of my “village” you may reprimand my children and even smack them on the hand but no I am one of the only people in this world who is allowed to fully spank or smack my son. BUT even I DO NOT leave a mark on my son! No one and I mean NO ONE has that right! And when I asked her what she would have done if the roles had been reversed she plain and forcefully stated that she would have been beyond furious and would not accept am apology of ANY kind. But yet it was okay for her to slap my son and I was expected to accept her apologies just like that and let it all drop.

I ask you this.
What kind of mother would I be? What kind of example would I be setting for my son or my daughters? (my oldest daughter is EXTREMELY close to her baby brother and she was the one brought my attention to the mark she left. My daughter was NOT happy)

~Mirror~

Leave a Reply

